Shipped With Perfection


Omarion has recently finalized a deal with mega-producer Timbaland’s record label “Mosley Music Group”. Omarion said he felt the need to change labels because of all the changes that happened at Sony over the past few years. Switches in staffing, he said, affected the proper push of his past few projects.


I asked to be released,” he said of the rumors that Sony dropped him. “A release is different from a drop. When an artist is dropped, usually they haven’t brought any revenue to the company. As you know, I’ve been with that company for a long time, roughly over six years. Throughout B2K and my solo albums, revenue was still brought in. An artist like me could never get dropped. How did I get dropped and I still ended up in a great situation? Usually when you hear ‘drop,’ it means, ‘Oh, he’s over.’ It’s a wrap. It’s unfortunate that stuff like that gets put out there. Everybody likes to associate — especially me being such a cool dude — with negative things. Are you kidding me?”

The two became tight during negotiations for Omarion’s contract. They had to talk at length about the direction of the upcoming project.


“I actually got a chance to attend his wedding,” he explained. “I got some time in the studio with him. Throughout the time for us having to work out the deal, we talked a lot. He told me what he wanted. I told him what I wanted. We had to make sure it came together organically. It was like we chose each other. We really sat down and felt each other out. I respect Timbaland a lot. He not just a producer, he’s a visionary. This guy comes in the game and changes the game. It’s not like I’m just getting with another producer who has a great track record.

Omarion recently cut off his braids, and he spoke on why he felt it was time for a change.

I’m gonna be 24 this year. It’s a progressive age, 21,” he said. “I was finding myself and finding out the things that needed to be done as far as my career, what needed to be done. Certain moves. I feel like now I’m in a really great place. Cutting my hair, I feel like I’m going to another level. Cutting my hair was a step for me. Anybody that has had hair for so long, when you’re used to something, it’s like reforming your life.”


Check out the video of him cutting his hair below:

(Source)



Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

